Koloucheh Ahwazi (Ahwazi Cookies) for Nowruz

Standard

image

Nowruz, or Iranian New Year, is just around the corner. It is always a happy time and brings back a lot of childhood memories. I remember my Maman preparing for Nowruz weeks in advance and baking lots of different colourful baked treats, one of the family’s favourites being the Ahwazi cookie. Ahwaz is the name of the town I grew up in and this recipe was given to us by our neighbour, Mrs Naghdi.

Ingredients:

Dough

100g Unsalted Butter (Melted)

120g Sugar

130g Yoghurt

1 Egg

Self Raising Flour (Enough to make a soft dough)

Filling

400g Pitted Dates

100g Chopped Walnuts

2 Tbsp Tahini

2 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Apple (Peeled and Grated)

Method:

1. Whisk Melted Butter, Sugar, Yoghurt and Egg for 2 minutes, until it gets to the ribbon stage

image(1)photo 1

2. Add enough Self Raising Flour to make into a soft dough and leave to one side

photophoto(1)

3. Mix Pitted Dates, Chopped Walnuts, Grated Apple, Tahini and Cinnamon together

photo(2)

4. Roll out the dough to 1/2cm thickness and cut into circles

photo(3)

5. Top half the dough circles with a teaspoon of the filling mixture and cover with the rest of the dough circles. Seal the edges

photo 2

6. Place the cookies on grease proof paper on a baking tray and top with Pistachio, Sesame Seeds or any topping you like

7. Bake in the oven 170C or 150C fan for 25-30 minutes

8. Remove from the oven, allow the cookies to cool, then dust with icing sugar

photo

Noosheh Jaan! Happy Nowruz to you all! Below is a list of participants in the 2014 Nowruz Recipe Round-Up. Check out these pages to find more delicious Nowruz recipes.

26 responses »

  1. Pingback: Naw-Rúz, A New Year Recipe Round-up! | Fae's Twist & Tango

  2. What a valuable recipe for fabulous cookies these Koloucheh Ahwazis are! Not only is the cookie crust significant, the filling is a dream.As I am making my rounds of Nowrouz recipe round-up, i am enthralled. Thank you for sharing! ~ Fae.

    • Merci for your great comment. Love the individuality and the different approaches towards the dishes that we are all familiar with. Enjoyed reading your blog and the recipes.
      Ba behtarin arezooha for Norooz
      Happy cooking
      Afsaneh

  3. Pingback: New blog for Nowruz | Simi's Kitchen

  4. I’ve never heard of using tahini and apples in the filling, sounds so delicious! Nice method of filling, too, I’m going to try your approach. Thanks for the clear instructions. These look so good! -Louisa

  5. Pingback: Naan Gerdooee ~ Persian Walnut Cookie

  6. Pingback: Noon Berenj – Thumbprint Rice Flour Cookies with Saffron & Rosewater for Persian Nowruz — Silk Route food memoir by Shayma Saadat – The Spice Spoon

  7. Pingback: Norouz Twist on Kookoo Sabzi (Persian Herb Quiche with Chard and Kale) | Family SpiceFamily Spice

  8. Hello Afsaneh jan,

    Would you (or anyone else who tried this recipe) please tell me the approximate amount of self raising flour that you used? I ran out of it, even though at the beginning I thought I had enough of it left to make a soft dough, so I failed. I know the amount is approximative, but I just want to have an idea. I will do better next time anyway, I will plan better (and won’t make the filling before the dough!). Best wishes.

    • Hi Sara! No you haven’t failed, You can add some plain flour to your dough, should be soft but not sticky, easier to roll out on a floured surface. I have never measured the amount of SR flour before so I can’t give you the exact weight sorry! ( I will next time I make it) You can keep your filling in the fridge just add couple of tbls apple or orange juice to stop grated apples from discolouration. I always make the dough and let it rest while I make the filling and wait for the oven to preheat. Thank you so much for trying my recipe. I’m sure your cookies are gonna be wonderful. Happy cooking! A

  9. Thank you very much for the information dear Afsaneh!
    I actually baked it without rolling out the dough, more like a cake (put a layer of dough, then the filling, then another layer of dough in a mold). Strange twist to the recipe, but it was delicious!! Happy new year and thanks for sharing this dlight.

  10. Pingback: Chickpea Cookies | ZoZo BakingZoZo Baking

  11. Afsaneh joon! With much delay I was able to log in to wordpress. Thank you for this delicious recipe, I’ve always loved Koloucheh, but never had a good recipe to try. I’ve shared this with my mom and we have put your recipe on our “Must Bake” list…thanks again and sorry for delay!

    • Fariba jaan salaam. Merci for your message. I’m glad that you and your mum liked my recipe and thank you so much for adding it to your “MUST BAKE” list. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

